The Morning Shift

Alarm Clock design by VisualPharm

I’m slowly shifting my person from being an afternoon person-slash-night-owl to being an early bird. It’s been a little more than a week since I’ve started, ever since I had a few meetings scheduled before 9:00 AM.  I never thought I would ever be a early bird, but now it’s happening and I am enjoying it.

The experience has been good so far, as waking up early in the morning has increased my level of productivity throughout the day. And with more clients coming in, this shift is significant and advantageous to my job as a business development manager in a social marketing agency. I have more focus and I think and move faster. I am also more self-aware about the things I think, do and say.

Why a person is a night owl or early bird depends on his or her’s circadian rhythm, more commonly known as the biological clock. According to WebMD, people with longer rhythms become night owls and people with shorter rhythms become early birds. The rhythms also change as someone ages. Babies and children have shorter rhythms, teenagers and young twentysomethings have longer ones and people in their mid-twenties and above revert back to having shorter rhythms. This is why as we age, there is the tendency to become sleepier earlier. It’s a bit different for me though, since it has made me feel energized enough to continue being productive at night or to want to have more night-outs with my friends. It has definitely revived my enthusiasm for an active night life. I do still need the 8 hours of sleep so I have to end those nights a bit early though.

How about you? Are you an early bird, an afternoon person or a night owl? Share with me your thoughts on being one!

Thanks for reading my blog!

About aisadelacruz

aisadelacruz.wordpress.com

One response to “The Morning Shift

  1. I feel like I can adapt relatively well; I worked 4:30pm-1am for 2 weeks then switched to 6am-2:30pm for this week and next. And I wasn’t sure how it was going to be, but it’s been alright. I like staying up late, but once I’m up in the morning, I’m usually fine (although setting an alarm for 4:30am is a bit scary!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

Viewing the World with Me

  • 11,434 pairs of eyes

Archives

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
Rating for aisadelacruz.wordpress.com
